32nd Installation Ceremony of Rotaract Club of Colombo North


In honor of another magnificent journey completed and the start of another, The Rotaract Club of Colombo North was back with its 32nd installation ceremony that was commenced by the tradition of lighting the oil lamp on the 17th of September 2023 from 10 a.m. onwards, that lasted for 2 hours and a little bit longer at Panibaratha Theater University of Visual and Performing Arts. Rtr. Hiruni Chamodya, Rtr. Indiwary Ayodhaya, Rtr. Kavithra Lahiruni, Rtr. Ridmi Dias, Rtr. Savindi Tharushika, Rtr. Thilakshi Amarasingha, Rtr. Venumi Kudagoda joined in this celebration representing RACUOCFMF at this memorable event. After the house was called to order by the Sergent-at-Arms Rtr. Hammaad Saldin. Everyone stood for the National anthem, which was followed by the traditional Rotaract formalities; the flag salutation, Rotaract invocation, four-way test, and Rotaract song.One of the most prominent moments was the presentation of the secretary’s report for the year 2022/23 by the outgoing secretary Rtr. Zahwa Abusahid. She covered all the significant team milestones they passed as a team which included completing 52 projects such as 17 Club Service projects, 12 Community Service projects, 12 Professional Development projects, 2 International Service projects, 5 sports Activity projects, and 3 Public Relations projects. She signed off as the secretary of Rotaract year 2022/23. She appreciated the amazing board of directors and finally, she congratulated the new president and his board of directors.The next stop was for the past captain of the ship – Rtr. Dhamin Sarap, the 31st President of Rotaract Club Colombo North for the Rotaract year 2022/2023 spilled out his memories. He thanked avenue directors, the executive committee, and all club members for supporting him throughout his journey. He distributed certificates of appreciation and introduced the upcoming President. He winded up his speech signed off as the president of the year 2022/23 and congratulated the new president Rtr. Basharath Isamath. Rtr. Dhamin Sarap gracefully collared the Incoming President and transferred the club’s obligations from that point forward, Rtr. Basharath Isamath was officially the president of Rotaract Club Colombo North for the Rotaract year 2023/24.Next, it was the new president’s speech, he firstly appreciated Immediate past president Rtr. Dhamin Sarap and mentioned that he is not retired, and he asked to stay with him and support him throughout the future. He warmly welcomed the new members of the club and said he waiting to work with them together.

The Executive Committee and Board of Directors for the year 2023/24 are as follows.

President – Rtr. Basharath Isamath
Immediate Past President – Rtr. Dhamin Sarap
Vice President – Rtr. Nabil Roomy
Vice President – Rtr. Ifaad Azeez
Vice President – Rtr. Zahwa Zahran
Secretary – Rtr. Huruleen Haniffa
Assistant Secretary – Rtr. Zeenath Saldeen
Treasurer – Rtr. Anas Haariz
Sergeant at Arms – Rtr. Hammaad Saldin
Editor – Rtr. Najla Siraj
Joint Club Service Director – Rtr. Mashi Dewage
Joint Club Service Director – Rtr. Muraad Hadjie
Joint Community Service Director – Rtr. Chanuque Gunasekara
Joint Community Service Director – Rtr. Akhlaq Gazzali
Professional Development Director – Rtr. Amaani Farooq
Public Relations Director – Rtr. Aaisha Moiez
International Service Director – Rtr. Tashiya Jayman
Finance Director – Rtr. Hassan Namiz
Sports Director – Rtr. Stefan Joseph

Next up was the DRR Rtr. Sathma Jayasingha. She said everyone knows Colombo North for producing many great leaders and amazing rotaractors and making sure that they mark their presence in almost every event, they have the power to help others through many innovative projects.The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo Faculty of Management and Finance would love to convey their heartfelt wishes to the Incoming President Rtr. Basharath Isamath and his Board of Directors to continue their marvelous job of making lives better for another year and more!

Written By: –





Rtr. Indiwary Ayodhaya
(General Member 2023-24)

Written By: –





Rtr. Thilakshi Amarasinghe
(General Member 2023-24)


Spread the love
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments