The Rotaract Club of CINEC Campus took another step forward to a remarkable year with its 5th Installation Ceremony, which was held on the 1st of October at the CINEC Campus Auditorium from 4pm onwards. Rtr. Hana Rameez, Rtr. Fatheena Jaufer, and Rtr. Ayodhya Wickramasinghe attended this splendid event on behalf of RACUOCFMF to witness the beginning of their new journey. 

The event officially commenced with the dignitaries lighting up the traditional oil lamp, after which the Sergeant at Arms, Rtr. Ravindu Mahendra called the house to order. This was followed by the National Anthem, the Conventional Rotaract Formalities, and the CINEC Song.

Next, the welcome speech was given by Rtr. Movindi Bandaranayaka, and it was followed by the secretary’s report, which was presented by the Outgoing Secretary, Rtr. Maneeshi Gunathilaka emphasizing the outstanding achievements of the club during the RI year 2021-22. She mentioned that the club was able to accomplish nearly 83 projects, of which 40 impactful projects were concluded as community service projects done during the pandemic period.

Thereafter, A few words about the experience of a year of presidency was shared by the Outgoing President, Rtr. Kavinda Sankalpa. He mentioned how the challenges we encounter in life makes us discover things about ourselves that we didn’t know about. He also was grateful to all the contributors who supported him to make the Rotaract journey a success.

Then, the most awaited moment of the event showed up as the Outgoing President Rtr. Kavinda Sankalpa collared Rtr. Deshan Siriwardana as the Incoming President for the RI year 2022–23.

Next, the newly appointed president Rtr. Deshan Siriwardana addressed the gathering. He shared his inspirations for the new RI year while mentioning how his decision to join Rotaract ended up being one of the best decisions he made in his life. He further mentioned how hard times create strong men and strong men create good times.

Next he introduced the Executive Committee and Board of Directors for the RI year 2022–23 which was as follows:

Immediate Past President – Rtr. Kavindu Sankalpa
President – Rtr. Deshan Siriwardana
Vice president (Administration) – Rtr. Maneeeshi Gunathilaka
Vice president (Finance) – Rtr. Kaumadi Alawathugoda
Vice president (Projects) – Rtr. Vihari Ranasinghe
Vice president (Special projects) – Rtr. Jayamal Salinda
Secretary – Rtr. Shaheem Emthiyas
Secretary – Rtr. Ruvindi Dewmini
Treasurer – Rtr. Iruki Salwathura
Treasurer – Rtr. Ushani Rajanayake
Sergeant-at-arms – Rtr. Ravindu Mahendra
Editor – Rtr. Helika Adikary
Editor – Rtr. Tania Melanies
Special projects director – Rtr. Bimsara Ranasinghe
Special projects director – Rtr. Sapuchandra dasanayake
Community service director – Rtr.yasoda bandaranayake
Community service assistant director – Rtr. Sahan Hettiarachchi
Sports director – Rtr. Mohamed Rezi
Sports assistant director – Rtr. Ishanka Weeradinghe
Club service director – Rtr. Movindi Bandaranayake
Club service assistant director – Rtr. Chamath Tharinda
Professional development director – Rtr. Dinuka Perera
Professional development assistant director – Rtr. Nethuni Mallawaarachchi
Public relations director – Rtr. Nimantha Madushan
Public relations director – Rtr. Navodya Diwyanjali
Public relations assistant director – Rtr. Rinza Dawood
Digital communication director – Rtr. Thamindu Rajanayake
Digital communication assistant director – Rtr. Rusiru Balasooriya
Media and branding director – Rtr. Pamuchitha Jayadharma
Media and branding director – Rtr. Sabin Edirisinghe
Membership director – Rtr. Araliya Perera
Membership assistant director – Rtr. Vimukthi Deshan
Finance director – Rtr. Kevin Gamage
Finance assistant director – Rtr. Nipuni Karunanayake
Environmental services director – Rtr. Dilki lakshani
Environmental services assistant director – Rtr. Sasindu Kodikara
Co-operate partnerships director – Rtr. Anuradha Jayasundara
Co-operate partnerships assistant director – Rtr. Kithmi Maldeniya

Next, the District Rotaract Representative,  Rtn. Rtr. PP Ahamed Hussain delivered his speech briefing on the purpose of Rotaract while congratulating the Incoming President and his Board of Directors on a successful year ahead. Also, he stated that “we are the leaders of today and not tomorrow”. Subsequently, the Chief Guest, Admiral Thisara Samarasinghe addressed the gathering, highlighting the importance of Rotaract and as students, how we should develop our skills to engage in such movements along with the academic activities. Then, the District Rotaract Chair Rtn. PP Farzana Khan shared her thoughts and experience in Rotaract with the audience. 

Finally, the tokens of appreciation were distributed to all the dignitaries and the vote of thanks was delivered by the Joint Secretary for the RI year 2022–23, Rtr. Shaheem Emthiyas and the event was concluded for refreshments and continued fellowship.

It was truly an honor for us at RACUOCFMF to take part in this magnificent celebration, and we would like to extend Rtr. Deshan Siriwardana and his Board of Directors our warmest congratulations.

Written By:-
Rtr. Hana Rameez
(General Member – 2022-23)

Written By:-
Rtr. Fatheena Jaufer
(General Member – 2022-23)

Written By:-
Rtr. Ayodha Wickramasinghe
(General Member – 2022-23)

Edited By:-
Rtr. Amali Senadeera
(Blog Team Member 2022-23)

Spread the love
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments