41st Installation Ceremony of Rotaract Club of Kandy


In the spirit of camaraderie and the beginning of another exciting journey, The Rotaract Club of Kandy recently marked its 41st installation ceremony with a touch of tradition and a lot of enthusiasm. The event kicked off on 11th November 2023 at 3.30 p.m. with the timeless ritual of lighting the oil lamp an emblem of the club’s vibrant history and the promise of a bright future. The ceremony stretching over two and half hours, welcomed attendees from various walks of life each bringing their unique experiences to enrich the celebration. Representing RACUOCFMF Rtr. Parindya Gunarathne, Rtr. Thilini Samarathunga, Rtr.Madara Upalirathna, Rtr. Dilshan Chathuranga attended this memorable occasion. Rtr. Shakya Situbandara called the house to order and the stage was set for an evening filled with tradition, camaraderie, and heartfelt moments. The assembly then rose in unison for the national anthem a poignant start to an event that embodies units and pride. Following the anthem, the ceremony flowed seamlessly through the conventional Rotaract formalities- the flag salutation, Rotaract invocation, Four-way test, and Rotaract song. As the Installation Ceremony unfolded, it became evident that this gathering was more than just a formality, it was a celebration of the past, a recognition of the present, and a spirited embrace of the promising future for the Rotaract Club of Kandy.The spotlight then turned to Rtr. Loreni Cottling, Immediate President for the year 2022-2023. In a heartfelt speech, she expressed gratitude to the numerous individuals who helped her in her journey. Overwhelmed with appreciation, she found herself short of words to thank everyone who stood by her through thick and thin. Wrapping up as the outgoing president, she extended her congratulations to Rtr. Haleem Akmal and his team.Rtr. Loreni Cottling smoothly passed the reins to the Incoming President, Rtr. Haleem Akmal, officially marking the commencement of his role as the President of RAC of Kandy for the Rotaract Year 2023-24. He expressed the closeness of the relationship with his members, and emphasized a profound sense of camaraderie and connection, likening it to the strong ties within a family. He thanked several Rotaract members for their contributions in making numerous achievements possible. Then it was the moment to unveil the key team members steering the ship for the upcoming year.Executive Committee and Board of Directors for the year 2023-24 are as follows.

President – Rtr. Haleem Akmal
Immediate Past President & Joint Director of Special Projects – Rtr. Loreni Cottling
Joint Vice President & Joint Director of Environmental & Sports – Rtr. Azzam Siyamdeen
Joint Vice President & Director of Club Service – Rtr. Julian Kenneth
Joint Secretary – Rtr. Jameema Raffaideen
Joint Secretary – Rtr. Shazmina Jawahir
Club Advisor – Rtn. Rtr. PP Shehan Dissanayake
Sergeant At Arms- Rtr. Harsha Jayasanka
Treasurer – Rtr. Dilshan Ilankoon
Editor – Rtr. Vihanga Habaragamuwa
Assistant Director of Club Service – Rtr. Lyanne Steven
Director of Community Service – Rtr. Thilini Subasinghe
Assistant Director of Community Service – Rtr. Zaid Ahmed
Joint Director of Professional Development & Public Image – Rtr. Raveendran Rashoav
Joint Director of Professional Development & Public Image – Rtr. Madushani Maluddeniya
Joint Director of International Service – Rtr. Fawaz Farook
Joint Director of International Service – Rtr. Chavithra Surendran
Joint Director of Environmental & Sports – Rtr. Dilhan Jayarathne
Joint Director of Special Projects – Rtr. Pahan Ratwatte
Director of Finance – Rtr. Shakya SitubandaraNext, The Guest of Honor Rtn. PHF Ravindra Thammita addressed the gathering. He wished them all the best for the upcoming year and congratulated them on a job well done last year. He also added that they are always ready to help them out at any moment of need. The speech was followed by a Sinhala medley that was performed by the Rotaractors to entertain the audience. A few songs were played again in the auditorium. Following up was the address by the chief guest Mrs. Pearly Liyanage, where she mentioned that events like these are an opportunity to reach greater heights.Following that felicitations were given out by guest clubs. As another amazing day came to an end, the president adjourned the meeting for refreshments and fellowship after the secretary, Rtr. Jameema Rafaideen gave the vote of thanks.It was truly an honor to represent RACUOCFMF at this event, and we warmly congratulate the incoming president, Rtr. Haleem Akmal, and his board of directors for a fruitful year ahead.

Written & Edited By: –





Rtr. Chamodi Parindya
(General Member 2023-24)

Written & Edited By: –





Rtr. Ilakshi Madara
(General Member 2023-24)

Spread the love
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments