6th Installation Ceremony of Rotaract Club of CINEC Campus


The Rotaract Club of CINEC Campus was back with their 6th installation ceremony which commenced with the lighting of the traditional oil lamp at their main auditorium. This was held on the 24th of September from 3.00 p.m. onwards and lasted for about 2 hours. The house was called to order by the Sergeant-at-Arms Rtr. Sahan Hettiarachchy. Afterwards, all rose for the national anthem which was followed by the invocation done by Rtr. Sasanga Athuraliya. The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo Faculty of Management and Finance was represented by Rtr. Saduni Wijemanna, Rtr. Vimarshee Gunawardana, Rtr. Asini Somasundara, Rtr. Shenya Chandrasiri, Rtr. Supun Chamikara and Rtr. Mihan Lakvindu.The outgoing secretary Rtr. Shaheem Imthias presented the secretary’s report for the years 2022-2023 which contained information about many wonderful projects that had been executed beautifully throughout the year. After that, the outgoing president Rtr. Deshan Siriwardena shared his wonderful experiences about his tenure and also expressed his gratitude to everyone who supported him. “Enjoy your life, be happy, and most importantly, be grateful” were some parting words expressed by the outgoing president. Then Rtr. Deshan Siriwardena presented the certificates of appreciation to his board members for the immense support given by them.The PR director for the Rotaract years 2023-2024 Rtr. Sandali Bandara introduced the incoming president with a few words and a video with a collection of pictures from his childhood. Afterwards, it was time for the most awaited moment of the entire ceremony which was the collaring of the new president of the Rotaract Club of CINEC for the year 2023/2024. The newly appointed president, Rtr. Helika Adikary then addressed the gathering. He conveyed his excitement to embark on this new journey and expressed his gratitude to everyone who has supported him, especially his parents. “I firmly believe that diversity is our strength. And by embracing the different perspectives we can create lasting change”, were some insightful words shared by him. Then, he introduced and handed out the letters of appointment to the newly appointed board of directors.

The Executive Committee and Board of Directors for the year 2023/2024 are as follows;

President – Rtr. Helika Adikary
Immediate Past President – Rtr. Deshan Siriwardena
Vice President (Projects) – Rtr. Rusiru Balasooriya
Vice President (Administration) – Rtr. Mohamed Rezi
Vice President (Finance) – Rtr. Ravindu Mahendra Peiris
Secretary – Rtr. Rinza Dawood
Assistant Secretary – Rtr. Monalee Dissanayake
Treasurer – Rtr. Yawni Kaawya Manuweera
Assistant Treasurer – Rtr. Tharushi Lakshika
Co-Editors – Rtr. Anoo Gunasekera
Co-Editors – Rtr. Minidu Punsara Jayalath
Sergeant at Arms – Rtr. Sahan Hettiarachchy
Special Projects Director – Rtr. Kevin Gamage
Assistant Special Projects Director – Rtr. Miuru Kavinda
Community Service Director – Rtr. Thilanka Uddeepana
Assistant Community Service Director – Rtr. Maleesha Dhyan Bandara
Professional Development Director – Rtr. Thenuk Senaratne
Assistant Professional Development Director – Rtr. Balavan Kulendran
Club Service Director – Rtr. Ranithi Weerasinghe
Assistant Club Service Director – Rtr. Sasanga Athuraliya
PR Director – Rtr. Sandali Bandara
Assistant PR Director – Rtr. Matheesha Hirun
International Service Director – Rtr. Mohamed Khaleel Adheela
Assistant International Service Director – Rtr. Budwin Hettiarachchi
Membership Director – Rtr. Thamali Madhushani Girihagama
Assistant Membership Director – Rtr. Sameeha Shaahir
Sports Director – Rtr. Husna Farook Casssim
Assistant Sports Director – Rtr. Salmaan Saeed
Finance Director – Rtr. Praneeth Thalpavila
Assistant Finance Director – Rtr. Nethwini BandaraThe District Rotaract Representative – Rtr. PP Sathma Jayasinghe, who is also a proud product of CINEC Campus, addressed the gathering. “You are what you identify yourself as”, was a great piece of advice conveyed by her during her speech. She also expressed her happiness seeing the heights the Rotaract Club of CINEC Campus has reached while congratulating and wishing the newly appointed president and his team the best of luck.Afterwards, the Chief Guest of the event, the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering & Technology CINEC Campus, Dr. Janaka Liyanagama shared his valuable thoughts on the Installation with those who were present. He started by saying the growth of members as compared to the year 2018 and said that “Rotaract Club is the most sustainable club at CINEC Campus.” The speech ended with the chief guest thanking and saying, “Do wonders and be a part of the proud CINEC Rotaract family.”Tokens of appreciation were presented to dignitaries who graced the occasion and then the floor was opened for felicitations where Rotaractors of all clubs who participated that day congratulated the Outgoing Board on a tremendous job done and added well wishes to the Incoming Board of the upcoming year. The 6th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club CINEC Campus came to a close with the vote of thanks being delivered by the Secretary for the year 2023/2024, Rtr. Rinza Dawood. Afterwards, the attendees were treated to refreshments followed by a session of continued fellowship.

The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo Faculty of Management and Finance would love to convey our heartfelt wishes to the incoming President Rtr. Helika Adikary and his Board of Directors to keep up the remarkable work.

Written By: –





Rtr. Vimarshee Gunawardhana
(General Member 2023-24)

Written By: –





Rtr. Sanduni Wijemanna
(General Member 2023-24)

Spread the love
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments