The 7th Installation Ceremony of Rotaract Club of Panadura

The 7th installation ceremony of President Rtr. Yohan Rajapakse and his board of directors of Rotaract Club of Panadura were held on the 1st of August at The Blue Water Hotel, Wadduwa. Rtr. Jude Fonseka, Rtr. Dilini Perera, Rtr. Ruvini Nuwangi and Rtr. Oshani Weerakkody attended the ceremony on behalf of our club.

The event commenced with the arrival of the chief guests and other dignitaries and the installation was called to order by the outgoing President Rtr. IPP Yasasvi Salgado soon after the lighting of the oil lamp, flag salutation, Rotaract invocation and the Rotaract song.

The welcome address was done by Rtr. Charindra Salgado, the project Co Chair. It was followed by the Secretary’s report for the year 2014/15 which included a creative video clip that contained a collection of photographs of the main projects carried out by the club. In her speech she mentioned that during their term the club was able to carry out 40 projects which were very successful. She further talked about their main two projects , “My Heart 2 Yours” and” Children In Focus” which were able to win many awards at the District Assembly including the Most Outstanding Professional Development Project and the Best Fund Raising Project.

Next the outgoing president Rtr. Yasasvi Salgado addressed the gathering. He expressed his gratitude to his board of directors and fellow members and also to their parent club, Rotary club of Panadura, for giving him guidance and support to make his term a success and he wished a very successful year ahead for the new President and his board of directors. Then he introduced the new President and the new board of directors with a very interesting and supportive speech and a video. 

The newly appointed Board of Directors of the club for the year 2015/2016 is as follows;

President – Rtr. Yohan Rajapakse
Immediate Past President- Rtr. IPP Yasasvi Salgado
Joint Vice Presidents – Rtr. Chathura Karunanayake, Rtr. Buddhika Fernando
Secretary- Rtr. Annapoorna Jayasiri
Treasurer – Rtr. Chathura Dakshina
Editor- Rtr. Sapnima Sewwandi
Joint Directors – Club Service- Rtr. Thiwanka Silva, Rtr. Thanuja Dilshan
Director – Professional Development- Rtr Charindra Salgado
Joint Directors – Community Service- Rtr. Piyath De Silva, Rtr. Sagara De Silva
Director – International Understanding- Rtr Hrasha Kannangara
Joint Directors – Information Technology- Rtr. Lahiru Mendis, Rtr. Chirath De Alwis
Director – Finance & Public Relations- Rtr. Nishakya De Silva
Interact Rotaract Coordinator- Rtr. Asitha De Silva
Sergeant – At-Arms – Rtr.  Yasith Gamage

Next was an entertainment item which was a song performed by a member of the club. Next in line was the launching of one of the main projects of the club – “From My Heart 2 Yours- Chapter 2”. A very creative and heart touching video was played and it further explained how the project was initially started as a simple project and how they tried to raise funds to buy the necessary medicine and equipment for the National Cancer Institute and also how it later on became a huge project where they were successful enough to build an auditorium to the institute. It also emphasized that it is under the theme of “Give the gift of the Eyesight” that they tried to draw the attention of people to visually impaired children.

This was followed by the speech of the District Rotaract Representative Rtr. PHF Sathiyendra T. Singham. He praised the past President and the Board of Directors for their great commitment and he wished all the best for the new President and his Board of Directors for a great year ahead.
The gathering was next addressed by the District Youth Service Chair Rtr. PP.PHF. Farzana Khan and she emphasized the fact that Rotaract is the largest international youth movement in the world and its importance as a great foundation for youth.

Next up in line was a speech by the Guest of Honor who was the assistant DRCC Rtn. P.P. Sulochana Vanniasingham. She mainly talked about the importance of Sustainability, as a club and also as a member.

Then the Chief Guest of the event, Rtn. IPDG. PHF. Gowri Rajan, addressed the gathering. In her speech she pointed out the importance of the relationship power of a leader. She mentioned that a good leader would try to develop and manage the relationship power along with the position power. She congratulated the immediate past President and his team for truly demonstrating fellowship through service and also expressed her confidence on the capabilities of Rtr. Yohan Rajapakse to lead the club to greater heights during the year 2015/16. Then the installation ceremony was concluded with felicitations followed by the vote of thanks and the national anthem.

The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Management & Finance wishes all the best for the incoming President and the incoming board of the Rotaract Club of Panadura for a very successful year ahead.

RC UOC FMF members Oshani, Jude, Ruvini & Dilini with the incoming
President Rtr. Yohan Rajapakse. 
(Source: Chathura Jayendra)

Reported by-
Rtr. Dilini Perera

Compiled by-
Rtr. Bhashini Gamage (Sub-Editor)
Spread the love
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments