“Outshine Together to Serve Humanity”- The 13th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of Faculty of Science, UOC

The 13th Installation Ceremony for inducting the Incoming President of the University Of Colombo Faculty Of Science, Rtr. Bhasuru Perera and his Board for the year 2015/2016 was held on the 27th August at the Mathematics Department Auditorium at the Faculty of Science. On behalf of our club Rtr. Shalini Wijewardena and Rtr. Melisha Lodewyke attended the event. The theme of the club this year is “Outshine Together to Serve Humanity”.

The events of the evening commenced with the lighting of the oil lamp by the dignitaries at the head table and Rtr. Anuradha Perera and Rtr. Maduka Wijeysiri representing the Rotaract District. Dignitaries for the evening were:

  • Chief Guest- Prof. K. R. Ranjith Mahanama (Dean of the Faculty of Science)
  • Guest of Honor- Rtn. Lakshman Athukorala (President of the Rotary Club of Colombo Down Town)
  • District Rotaract Representative- Rtr. PHF PP Sathiyeandra Tharmakulerajasingham
Prof. K. R. Ranjith Mahanama lighting the oil lamp (Source: Colombo Beacon)

With the house called to order by the Outgoing President Rtr. Nadeesha Katakumbura, and the  flag salutation, Rotaract invocation and the four way test were read by Rtr. Prabhavi Opallage followed by the Rotaract song. 

To begin with the proceeding the project chair Rtr. Prarthana Sandamali delivered her views on being the chief organizer of the 13th installation of RCFOS.  In her speech she highlighted the importance of the movement for young Rotaractors to bring out their best and to develop themselves while serving the community.

The Outgoing Secretary of the club Rtr. Rochelle Fernando presented the secretary’s report, mentioning it was the most remarkable year for the club as they were awarded the most Outstanding Club of the year at the Rotaract District Assembly along with many other rewards. Under the theme “Kindle the Passion”, the club had successfully completed 24 projects in total under all the avenues, including major projects such as “Akhankhara”, “Sevana” and “Future Challenge 2015”. Check out the Secretary’s Report video below

In his address to the gathering, the Outgoing President Rtr. Nadeesha Katakubura, stated about the standards RCFOS has reached from the bumpy start they had when he was collared as the President of the club in the previous year. Therefore, he said, “Your start doesn’t matter, end and the note in which you end it is what matters”. In his speech he appreciated and thanked special people who were a strength to him and the club including the IPP Rtr. Maduka Wijesiri, and the Board of 2014/15.

Next, the Outgoing President Rtr. Nadeesha Katakubura collared the Incoming President for the year 2015/16, Rtr. Bhasura Perera. 

Rtr. Nadeesha Katakubura collaring the incoming President Rtr. Bhasura Perera (Source: Colombo Beacon)

An introduction about Rtr. Bhasura was given by Rtr. Tharini Karunarathna followed by a video. After Bhasura’s speech, he went ahead with the proceedings to induct his new board members which consisted of the following Rotaractors:

  • President- Rtr. Bhasura Perera
  • Immediate Past President- Rtr. Nadeesha Katakumbura
  • Vice President- Rtr. Pramodya Gunawardhana & Rtr. Prabath Meemaduwa
  • Secretary- Rtr. Navindra Keerthisinghe
  • Assistant Secretary- Rtr. Ravindika Dissanayake
  • Treasurer- Rtr. Prarthana Sandamali
  • Sergeant-at-arms- Rtr. Sahan Godahewa
  • Editors- Rtr. Prabhavie Opallage & Rtr. Chankami Perera
  • Community Service Directors- Rtr. Lahiru Perera & Rtr. Samuditha Yatiwella
  • Club Services Director- Rtr. Pathum Gunaathilake
  • International Understanding Director- Rtr. Tharani Karunaratne
  • Professional Development Directors – Rtr.Dasun Jayathunga & Rtr. Warren Manuel
  • Information Technology Directors – Rtr. Malith Rangana & Rtr. Budhitha Lakshan
  • Public Relations Directors – Rtr. Jayani Kahapalaarachchi & Rtr. Thilina Chathuranga
The Board of Directors 2015/16 of the Rotaract Club of Faculty of Science (Source: Colombo Beacon)

Following the induction, the DRR Rtr. Sathiyeandra Tharmakulerajasingham addressed the gathering and mentioned that RCFOS has kept their promises to reach the expected number of members and has the second highest members being an institution based club. He appreciated the awards and the recognition the club has gained and also the IPP Rtr. Nadeesha Katakumbura for handling such a large number of members and taking the club for greater heights. 

DRR Shakthi at the installation ceremony (Source: Colombo Beacon)

The Chief Guest Prof. K. R. Ranjith Mahanama, the Dean of the Faculty of Science University of Colombo, appreciated the immense workload the Rotaractors put into projects in order to provide service to the needy people and on how the club works together to gain recognition while performing highly in their academics.

The Guest of Honor Rtn. Lakshaman Athukorala, the President of the Rotary Club of Colombo Down Town, delivered two messages to the club on the benefits that you gain by joining the Rotaract movement. First, you get to work together as a team and to brush up the qualities that you possess to reach a purpose. Secondly, you learn how the club can succeed in competing projects and the importance of extending the projects to outstations. He then gave away a token for the Incoming President and also to the Outgoing President for the achievements during the previous year.

The event came to an end with felicitation and the national anthem and the house was called to order for refreshments and fellowship.

The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo Faculty of Management & Finance conveys its best wishes to the Incoming President and his Board for a successful Rotaract year. 

Written by-

photo Rtr. Shalini Wijewardana
Vice President 2015/16 



Click on image for more information
Spread the love
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments